The 2015 Kalasha International Film and TV Awards was the rave on Friday 30th Nov 2015. The gala event was hosted at the Kenya International Conference Center (KICC), definitely the place to be! It was a night of glamour, fun and great entertainment as hundreds of filmmakers, actors and film enthusiasts converged to honor the 2015 nominees.

Kenyan Film and Television stars were feted at the 6th annual Kalasha Awards that went down at the Kenyatta International Conference Center (KICC) grounds in Nairobi on 30/10/15.This year a record 900 participants (plus) made entries in the film category with the Television category attracting most entries for the Top Awards.

In attendance were the nominees for the awards, several local actors/celebrities as well as the Cabinet Secretary for Sports, Culture and Arts Dr. Hassan Wario who was the chief guest. The CS thanked the organizers and sponsors of the event and said that the Government is keen on supporting the Film Industry in Kenya. He said his ministry will ensure the implementation of the film tax policy introduced in the Finance Act 2015.

Felix Warutere of ‘The Switch’ took home the award for best lead actor while Vivian Wambui was awarded the best Lead actress for her role in ‘No Behaviour’. The best supporting actor award was bagged by Charles Karumi for his role in ‘Fundimentals.’ Nominated feature film ‘Hear Me Move’ bagged awards for both Best Original Screenplay and Best Original score.

‘Hapa-Kule News’ program was named the best TV comedy show, as Khaleed Abdul scooped Best performer in a TV comedy. The victorious Khaleed proceeded to entertain the crowd with his antics as he passed a number to Dr. Wario, telling him it was his account number and urged the Cabinet Secretary to send him something when he feels generous.

The award for the Best Television Show Hosts went to Sarah Hassan and Charles Ouda of Discovery 254. The best television documentary award went to the Unity Dow story. The Best Lead Actress in a television drama was Riziki Ambrose of ‘Pendo’ while Kevin Maina took Best Lead Actor in a television drama for his role in popular box-set ‘Groove Theory’